CONTACT

IOC HAB Programme Coordinator: Henrik Enevoldsen

E-mail: hab.ioc@unesco.org

 

Junior Professional Officer: Ms. Yun Sun

E-mail: yu.sun@unesco.org

 

Programme Secretary: Ms. Simonetta SECCO

E-mail: s.secco@unesco.org

LIST OF CHAIRS AND LEADERS OF IOC HAB WORKING GROUPS, PANELS AND PROJECTS

IOC Intergovernmental Panel on Harmful Algal Blooms (IPHAB)

Chair IPHAB:  Joe Silke, Marine Institute, Marine Environment and Food Safety Services, IRELAND, Phone: (+)353 (0)9 138 7200, Email: Joe.Silke@Marine.ie

Vice-Chair IPHAB: Alexandra Duarte Silva, Phytoplankton Laboratory of the Portuguese Institute for the Sea and Atmosphere/ Portugal. Phone: +351-21 302 7000, E-mail: amsilva@ipma.pt

 

IPHAB TASK TEAMS:

Chair of IPHAB Task Team on Algal Taxonomy: Øjvind Moestrup, Department of Biology, University of Copenhagen, Denmark, Tel: +45 35 32 22 90, E-mail: moestrup@bio.ku.dk

Chair of IPHAB Task Team on Biotoxin Monitoring, Management and Regulations: Philipp Hess, Ifremer, France, Tel: + 33 2 4037 4257, E-mail: Philipp.Hess@ifremer.fr

Chair of IPHAB Task Team on the Early Detection, Warning and Forecasting of Harmful Algal Events: Alexandra Duarte Silva, Phytoplankton Laboratory of the Portuguese Institute for the Sea and Atmosphere, Portugal. Phone: +351-21 302 7000, E-mail: amsilva@ipma.pt

Chair of the Joint IPHAB/IODE Task Team on the Harmful Algal Information System (HAIS) and the Global HAB Status Report (GHSR): Eileen Bresnan, Marine Scotland Science, Marine Laboratory, UK. Tel : 01224 295313, E-mail: Eileen.Bresnan@gov.scot

Chair (Co-) of IPHAB Task Team on a Global Inter-Agency Ciguatera Strategy for Improved Research and Management: Mireille Chinain, Directrice du Laboratoire des Biotoxines Marines, Institut Louis Malarde, Polynésie Française. E-mail: mchinain@ilm.pf , and M-Y. Dechraoui Bottein (Morocco) and P. Hess (France).

Chair of the IPHAB Task Team on Harmful Algae and Desalination of Seawater: Donald M. Anderson, Biology Department, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, USA. Tel.: +1 508 457 2000 ext. 2351. E-mail: danderson@whoi.edu

Chair (Co-) of the IPHAB Task Team on Fish Killing Microalgae and Ecosystem Effects: Allan Cembella, Alfred Wegener Institute for Polar and Marine, Germany, Tel. +49 (0)471 4831 1494, E-mail: Allan.Cembella@awi.de; and Kazumi WAKITA, School of Marine Science and Technology, Tokai University, Japan. TEL: +81-54-334-0411 (ex. 2282), Email: kazumiw@tokai-u.jp

 

SCIENTIFIC GROUPS:

Chair IOC-SCOR GlobalHAB Scientific Steering Committee: Elisa Berdalet, Institut de Ciències del Mar (CSIC), Passeig Marítim de la Barceloneta 37-49, 08003 Barcelona, SPAIN. Email: berdalet@icm.csic.es

Vice-chair: Po Teen Lim, Deputy Vice Chancellor (Research & Innovation) Marine Biodiversity and Coastal Studies Research Unit, Institute of Ocean and Earth Sciences, University of Malaya, 50603 Kuala Lumpur, W.Persekutuan Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. Email: ptlim@um.edu.my

Chair ICES-IOC Working Group on the Dynamics of Harmful Algal Bloom Dynamics: Dave Clarke, Section Manager of Shellfish Safety, Marine Environment & Food Safety Services, Marine Institute, Rinville, Oranmore Co. Galway, Ireland, H91 R673, Email: dave.clarke@marine.ie

Chair of the ICES/IMO/IOC Study Group on Ballast and Other Ship Vectors: Okko Outinen, Finnish Environment Institute SYKE/Marine Research Centre, Latokartanonkaari 11, 00790 Helsinki, Email: okko.outinen@syke.fi

REGIONAL GROUPS:

Chair of FANSA (IOC regional working group for South America): Ana Martínez Goicoechea, researcher at Dirección Nacional de Recursos Acuáticos, Email: anamart30@gmail.com

Chair of ANCA (IOC regional working group for the Caribbean):  Gustavo Arencibia Carballo, Centro de Investigaciones Pesqueras (CIP), 5ta. AVE. Y 248, Jaimanitas. C., La Habana, CUBA. Phone: +53 7  209 7107; +53 7 204 98 27, Email: garen04@gmail.com

Chair WESTPAC/HAB: Mitsunori Iwataki, Professor, Tokai University, The Asian Natural Environmental Science Center (ANESC), The University of Tokyo, Email: iwataki@anesc.u-tokyo.ac.jp

Chair IOC HAB Network North Africa – HANA: Amany ISMAEL, Professor of Marine Biology, Faculty of Science Alexandria University, Email: amany_3@yahoo.com